Running Playlist for Shorties

I’ve never run unless it was while crossing the street from bar to bar to avoid being hit by a taxi. But somewhere between divorce #2 and quitting smoking, I somehow became a runner.

776e369a7f1081cc56f9b49812e535d6I’m not a serious runner. I keep up with my distance and time, but only for my knowledge. I don’t do 5Ks. I don’t have a running buddy or a run schedule. But I love the feeling of decompression I get running out all of the stress of a very hectic career — I can only take so many deadlines and dead people.

Where I get serious about a run is the music. If I don’t have the iPod and Bose noise canceling headphones, I ain’t running.

I have found that having the right playlist is critical to being able to push myself beyond my limit. It has to be upbeat, but not too fast, otherwise, I wear myself out too quickly.

At 5-feet, 2-inches, my leisurely pace is about 5 to 5.5 miles per hour or about an 11 to 12-minute mile average. It’s steady and I can go six or seven miles without feeling like death, Jello maybe, but not death.

I know it’s complete randomness, but here’s my short-leg, steady-pace, playlist. Some angry, some gangster, some old, some new — just shows it’s more about the beat than it is the song.

1. In Da Club by 50 Cent

2. Paper Planes by M.I.A.

3. Drop It Low by Ester Dean

4. Ruff Ryders Anthem by DMX

5. Shake That by Eminem ft. Nate Dogg

6. Coming Undone by Korn

7. Cyclone by Baby Bash

8. Work by Iggy Azalea

9. Ho Hey by the Lumineers

10. Hold Up by Nemesis

11. Bottoms Up by Trey Songz ft. Nicki Minaj

12. Down on Me by Jeremih ft. 50 Cent

13. Thrift Shop by Macklemore and Ryan Lewis

14. Not Afraid by Enimem (my FAVE for ANY workout playlist)

15. Radioactive by Imagine Dragons

16. Hell Breaks Loose by Eminem ft. Dr. Dre

17. Tainted Love by Marilyn Manson

18. Wanna Be a Baller by Lil Troy

19. Hypnotize by Notorious B.I.G.

20. Bullet in My Hand by Redlight King

21. 5 on It by Luniz

22. You Can Do It by Ice Cube

23. Flip (Game Over) by Lil Flip

24. Air Force Ones by Nelly

25. Bossy by Kellis

If I’m looking to decrease my time, I’ll mix in a few of these to speed up.

Boys of Summer —  DJ Sammy or the Ataris’ versions

Don’t You Worry Child by Swedish House Mafia

Savior by Rise Against

Wake Me Up by Avicii

My Songs Know What You Did in the Dark by FallOut Boy

Barracuda by Heart

Sex on Fire by Kings of Leon

I Will Wait by Mumford and Sons

Hey Soul Sister by Train

Maybe I should think of it as short people have to take more steps to go as far as long-legged people so I am actually burning more calories.

Anyway, this playlist is what I’m using to train for my first actual race – the Run Like a Diva half-marathon in Atlanta in September. I know – half marathon for my first race is crazy, but I’m a go big or go home kind of girl.

Please comment with your favorite run songs. I’ve got a lot of miles to log and I’ll definitely need some new jams.

2 thoughts on “Running Playlist for Shorties

  1. Pingback: The Perv, the Cropduster or the French Whore: Which one frequents your gym? | WrittenNRed

Leave a Reply

